Interesting Sandwich in a Porto Window

When we spent Thanksgiving in Portugal in 2016, we spent many hours sightseeing and just wandering their streets. Of course, hopping on a hop-on hop-off bus was very helpful, since it gave us an overview of the sites of any city we visit. We try to do this if time and resources permit it.

There were many bakeries in Porto, and a quick meal, albeit for the main meals of breakfast, lunch, or dinner, a coffee break, or just a snack at any time of the day, one can stop by any of these establishments, order a beverage and any bread-based morsel, or pastry. Relax and savor the moment.

This time, we did not stop at this bakery, since we were on our way to visit a museum, or a sight, I don’t recall now. Later, I found out that this bakery is a must stop for someone looking to experience the flavors of the city: the Confeitaria do Bolhao.

All I got from this is this picture.

However the delectable looking bread, stuffed with what looked like ham, stayed in my mind during and after we came back from the trip. I promised myself that I will make it one day. Upon further research, it is called Lanche Mista, a soft enriched bread with ham and presumably cheese stuffed inside the folded piece of dough and baked until brown.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment